3
ICAP
  • Date: December 9, 2021
  • Start Time: 9:00 am
    End Time: 10:00 am
  • Location: Virtual - Zoom

9:00 – 10:00 a.m. EST
(
2:00 p.m. Abidjan/ 4:00 p.m. Johannesburg/ 5:00 p.m. Nairobi/ 8:00 p.m. Almaty/ 8:30 p.m. Yangon)

As climate change drives an increase in extreme weather events, the health system needs to adapt to be able to continue preventive services as well as curative services for both acute and chronic conditions. This special webinar reviewed key findings from an analysis of the Mozambican government’s response to the cyclones of 2019, including an evaluation of the meteorological early warning system, as well as the impact of this severe weather event on the health system.

Presenters:
– Chia-Ying Lee, PhD, Lamont Assistant Research Professor, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University
– Tatiana Marrufo, MD, MPH, Coordenadora do Programa de Saûde e Ambiente, Instituto Nacional de Saûde, Ministry of Health, Mozambique

Moderator:
– Andrea Low, MD, PhD, HIV Clinical and Scientific Director of PHIA, Principal Investigator of S4S, ICAP at Columbia University

Panelists:
– Eduardo Samu Gudo, MD, PhD, Deputy Director, National Institute of Health, Mozambique
– Genito Maure, PhD, Climatologist and Professor at the University of Eduardo Mondlane, Mozambique
– Waltaji Kutane, MS, Technical Officer for Climate Changes and Health, World Health Organization, Mozambique
– Erika Rossetto, PhD, MPH, MBA, Field Epidemiology Training Program (FETP) Resident Advisor, Center for Disease Control, Mozambique

English Recording Portuguese Recording

Related Items